Zodiac Signs and Zodiac Constellations

This section describes what are zodiac signs and zodiac constellations.

In Western and Indian astrology, 12 zodiac signs are closely mapped to 13 zodiac constellation areas that are located along the ecliptic circle.

12 of 13 zodiac constellation areas are sharing names with 12 zodiac signs. One of zodiac constellation areas, Ophiuchus, is not recognized in astrology.

In astrology, the ecliptic circle is divided equally with 12 zodiac signs. So each sign occupies a 30-degree area. But the 13 constellation areas are defined by the IAU (International Astronomical Union) with different sizes. The table below gives a good comparison of zodiac signs and zodiac constellation areas:

Zodiac Sign                          Constellation Area

Aries - Ram, 30 degree               Aries, 21 degree      
Taurus - Bull, 30 degree             Taurus, 35 degree     
Gemini - Twins, 30 degree             Gemini, 21 degree     
Cancer - Crab, 30 degree             Cancer, 15 degree     
Leo - Lion, 30 degree                Leo, 41 degree        
Virgo - Virgin, 30 degree            Virgo, 48 degree      
Libra - Balance, 30 degree           Libra, 17 degree      
Scorpio - Scorpion, 30 degree        Scorpius, 10 degree   
                                     Ophiuchus, 19 degree   
Sagittarius - Archer, 30 degree      Sagittarius, 27 degree
Capricorn - Horned goat, 30 degree   Capricornus, 24 degree
Aquarius - Water bearer, 30 degree   Aquarius, 40 degree   
Pisces - Fish, 30 degree             Pisces, 42 degree     

Table of Contents

 About This Book

 Quick Introduction to Astrology

 Basics of Astrology and Astronomy



Introduction to Western Zodiac Signs

 What Is Western Zodiac

Zodiac Signs and Zodiac Constellations

 Zodiac Coordinate Systems - Starting Points

 Aries, The Ram, The First Zodiac Sign

 Taurus - The Bull, The Second Zodiac Sign

 Gemini - The Twins, The Third Zodiac Sign

 Cancer - The Crab, The Fourth Zodiac Sign

 Leo - The Lion, The Fifth Zodiac Sign

 Virgo - The Virgin, The Sixth Zodiac Sign

 Libra - The Balance, The Seventh Zodiac Sign

 Scorpio - The Scorpion, The Eighth Zodiac Sign

 Sagittarius - The Archer, The Ninth Zodiac Sign

 Capricorn - The Goat, The Tenth Zodiac Sign

 Aquarius - The Water Bearer, The Eleventh Zodiac Sign

 Pisces - The Fish, The Twelfth Zodiac Sign

 Horoscope and Horoscopic Astrology

 Horoscope and Planets

 Chinese Astrology and Horoscope

 Chinese Zodiac Animal Signs


 Full Version in PDF/EPUB