Floating-Point Data Types

This section describes value ranges and storage space sizes of floating-point data types: float and double.

Java supports 2 floating-point data types: byte, float and double.

From the data value point of view, each floating-point data type can represent the following real number values:

From the data storage point of view, each floating-point data type is stored its values differently:

For more information, read the 'IEEE 754 Standards - "float" and "double"' tutorial from my "C# Tutorials - Herong's Tutorial Examples" book at herongyang.com/C-Sharp/Floating-Point-Data-Type-IEEE-754.html.

Last update: 2018.

Table of Contents

 About This Book

 JDK - Java Development Kit

 Execution Process, Entry Point, Input and Output

Primitive Data Types and Literals

 Data Types Supported in Java

 Integer Data Types

Floating-Point Data Types

 Logical (Boolean) Data Type

 Literals of Primitive Types

 Literal Formats for Integers

 Literal Formats for Integers - Example

 Literal Formats for Floating-Point

 Literal Formats for Floating-Point - Example

 Literal Formats for Characters

 Literal Formats for Character - Example

 Bits, Bytes, Bitwise and Shift Operations

 Managing Bit Strings in Byte Arrays

 Reference Data Types and Variables

 StringBuffer - The String Buffer Class

 System Properties and Runtime Object Methods

 Generic Classes and Parameterized Types

 Generic Methods and Type Inference

 Lambda Expressions and Method References

 Java Modules - Java Package Aggregation

 Execution Threads and Multi-Threading Java Programs

 ThreadGroup Class and "system" ThreadGroup Tree

 Synchronization Technique and Synchronized Code Blocks

 Deadlock Condition Example Programs

 Garbage Collection and the gc() Method

 Outdated Tutorials


 Full Version in PDF/EPUB