Herong's Notes on Astrology and Horoscope
Dr. Herong Yang, Version 2.01

Jyotisha - Indian or Hindu Astrology

This section describes what is Jyotisha - Indian or Hindu astrology.

Jyotisha is also called Vedic Astrology, because it is part of the oldest scriptural texts of Hinduism called Vedanga. There are six disciplines in Vedanga:

  • Shiksha: phonetics and phonology
  • Chandas: meter
  • Vyakarana: grammar
  • Nirukta: etymology
  • Jyotisha: astrology and astronomy
  • Kalpa: ritual

Similar to Western Astrology, Jyotisha uses planets called "graha" in Sanskrit:

  • "Surya" - The Sun, representing soul.
  • "Chandra" - The Moon, representing mind.
  • "Mangala" - The Mars, representing energetic action.
  • "Budha" - The Mercury, representing communication.
  • "Guru" - Jupiter, representing the great teacher.
  • "Sukra" - The Venus, representing wealth, pleasure and reproduction.
  • "Sanaiscarya" - The Saturn, representing career and health.
  • "Rahu" - The ascending lunar node.
  • "Ketu" - The descending Lunar node.

Jyotisha also uses 12 signs called "Rashi" in Sanskrit:

  • Mesha - Aries
  • Vrishabha - Taurus
  • Mithuna - Gemini
  • Karka - Cancer
  • Simha - Leo
  • Kanya - Virgo
  • Tula - Libra
  • Vrishchika - Scorpio
  • Dhanus - Sagittarius
  • Makara - Capricorn
  • Kumbha - Aquarius
  • Meena - Pisces

Jyotisha uses a horoscope chart different than the Western astrology, see the picture below:

Jyotisha Chart

Table of Contents

 About This Book

Quick Introduction to Astrology

 What Is Astrology

 Western Astrology

Jyotisha - Indian or Hindu Astrology

 Chinese Astrology

 Basics of Astrology and Astronomy



 Introduction to Western Zodiac Signs

 Horoscope and Horoscopic Astrology

 Horoscope and Planets

 Chinese Astrology and Horoscope

 Chinese Zodiac Animal Signs


 PDF Printing Version

Dr. Herong Yang, updated in 2007
Jyotisha - Indian or Hindu Astrology